× Tell us a little about yourself. What do you fly or drive? What are your favorite spots in the area?
Aside from your avatar (forum) name, tell us your name you use in real life.

Hello from San Mateo

More
05 Oct 2016 20:24 #3368 by kyle
kyle created the topic: Hello from San Mateo
Hello, my name is Kyle and I'm a programmer living in the Bay area! What a surprise!

I'm originally from Missouri and moved here in February this year for a job at a game company whose game I've been playing since I was 12 or so. I've been building foamboard planes since I got here and now I own a laser cutter and am building a balsa/plywood plane. I'm not really sure what I'm doing, but the process is fun.

I came here in hopes of finding wisdom on where to fly around here. I have a car, but I don't often have the time to go very far, so I'm mostly on the lookout for places on the peninsula. From what I've seen, San Mateo is way too dense and I don't feel comfortable flying in any sort of populated area...

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
05 Oct 2016 21:54 #3369 by Busch
Busch replied the topic: Hello from San Mateo
Hola Kyle,

I'm Josh.. came here from Chicago last year for my employer, as well... was never into rc before that and now I've amassed a collection of 14 or 15 planes and jets, not including the hordes of quads and helis. I'm in Sunnyvale, though.. it's not too far a drive from you. There are two very good places to fly here, as well as numerous parks for smaller planes. I would recommend Rancho San Antonio #1 for your location, since it's right off 280 and probably 25-30 minutes away. Baylands is great, but if you're fairly new to the hobby you'll probably end up like I did and break a ton of landing gear on the grass before saying, "Screw this, I'm only flying belly landers out here." Rancho is hard ground/dirt and easy to land any plane on, though you can't fly quads, helis, or edf jets there.